Board of Trustees » Members


Chad ElmsMr. Chad Elms - Place 3

Term: 2021-2024
Email: [email protected]


Mr. Elms is serving his first three-year term on the Stephenville Board of Trustees. Chad is a former graduate of Stephenville ISD, and he also holds a B.S. in Animal Biology from Tarleton State University. Mr. Elms also has a B.S. in Health Care Sciences, as well as a Masters in Physical Therapy from the UT Health Science Center in San Antonio. In 2002, Chad founded an outpatient physical therapy practice that he grew to 16 locations across four states before exiting the company in 2019. After selling their PT practice, Chad and his wife, Stephanie, decided to return to Stephenville in order to be closer to family, as well as to raise their son in the town where he grew up. Chad has one son who is currently enrolled in Stephenville ISD. 


Donny Hill
Mr. Donny Hill - Place 7
Vice President
Term: 2023-2026
Mr. Hill is serving his second three-year term. He is a proud Tarleton State University graduate having earned his B.S. in Exercise and Sports Studies and M.S. in Kinesiology.  Mr. Hill has lived in Stephenville since 1996 and he and his wife have five children enrolled in Stephenville ISD ranging in age from five to fifteen years old. Mr. Hill has been the head personal trainer at Anytime Fitness for over ten years and an adjunct instructor in the Kinesiology Department at Tarleton State University since 2008.
Dr. Robert BarbereeDr. Robert Barberee - Place 1
Term: 2021-2024
Dr. Barberee is serving his second three-year term. Dr. Barberee has been practicing dentistry in Stephenville since 1997 and is the founder, director, and instructor for the Dental Career Center of Stephenville. Dr. Barberee earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Biology with a minor in Chemistry from the University of Houston. He then pursued his Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) degree from Texas A&M Baylor College of Dentistry. He and his wife Jane have 4 children that have all attended SISD.
Sherrie Evans
Mrs. Sherrie Evans - Place 2
Term: 2021-2024
Mrs. Evans is serving her third three-year term following a one-year unexpired term. Mrs. Evans, a lifelong resident of Stephenville, retired from teaching in 2010 after 28 years of service (24 years with Stephenville ISD - teacher/Stingerette Director and 4 years with Tarleton State University - teacher/Stars Director). Mrs. Evans is currently a real estate agent for Hayden Real Estate.
Dr. Ed Dittfurth
Dr. Ed Dittfurth - Place 4
Term: 2023- 2024
Dr. Dittfurth was appointed to serve as a Board of Trustees member to fill the Place 4 vacancy created by the resignation of Mr. Luke Sims until the May 2024 election.  He and his wife Cristi met at Tarleton State University and they have three children who all graduated from Stephenville High School.  They enjoy serving the community, cheering the Yellow Jackets and Honeybees, and raising cows.  For 24 years, Ed has served as the Lead Pastor at Cornerstone Church in Stephenville.  He is an Associate Professor at Tarleton State University teaching entrepreneurship, business ethics and leadership.
Matt Miller
Mr. Matt Miller - Place 5
Term: 2022- 2025
Mr. Miller is serving his first three-year term on the Stephenville Board of Trustees after securing his seat in an uncontested election.  Matt graduated from Stephenville High School in 1999 and Tarleton State University in 2003 with a Bachelor of Science major and minor in Marketing.  He comes from a Military Army family where both his mother and father served their country for twenty years.  Matt has been a Financial Advisor for ten years with Edward Jones.  Matt's wife, Cindy Shaw Miller, a graduate of Stephenville High School, has served as PEIMS Coordinator for Hook Elementary the past four years.  Cindy's parents, Randy and Christa Shaw, were long-time educators for Stephenville ISD.  Matt and Cindy have two daughters, Jalie and Tenley.  Matt has served as a proud board member for the Stephenville Education Foundation for seven years, and is in his first year as a member of the Evening Lions Club.
Ben McCleery profileMr. Ben McCleery - Place 6
Term: 2023-2026
Email: [email protected]


Mr. McCleery is serving his first three-year term. Ben is a lifelong resident of Stephenville, a former graduate of Stephenville ISD, and holds a B.S. from Tarleton State University in Agri-Business. Ben worked thirty years in the engineering office of the Texas Dept. of Transportation. For the last eleven years, Ben has been the pastor at Greens Creek Baptist Church. Ben’s wife, Kris, taught at Hook Elementary for many years until retirement and still tutors on campus. Ben & Kris have two children that also graduated from Stephenville ISD and Tarleton State University.